

Moore Catchment Council
P.O Box 337
Moora WA 6510
Phone (08) 9653 1355
Fax (08) 96531366

Email: moorecc@bigpond.com www.mooorecatchment.org.au

Moore Catchment Council says farewell

Farewells and new appointments occurred at the Moore Catchment Council AGM held on the 30^{th} September.

Geoff Erickson stepped down as long-time Chairman and was replaced by Reg Beale from Gingin. Cynthia McMorran also stepped down as Treasurer and was replaced by Lawrie Short. Cynthia, who has decided to leave the committee completely to concentrate on new ventures, has been an active member of the Moore Catchment Council since its conception in the early 1990's and will be sorely missed. Barry Johnson a long serving member and past Vice Chair of the committee has also retired from his position.

Geoff and Cynthia were presented with a magnificent bouquet of dried wildflowers courtesy of Rhonda and Arthur Tonkin.

Newly appointed community members to the MCC committee include Tony White and Richard Topham both from Miling. Tony also accepted the Vice Chair position.

With new younger input combined with a wealth of experience, the MCC strives to move forward with promotion of natural resource management in the catchment whilst tackling the dwindling funding issues posed by the government which risk losing the Natural Resource Management Officers employed by MCC.

Pre-lunch guest speakers were Mark Batty from WALGA who talked about state and federal government funded nature resource management programs and future opportunities, and also Tony White who recently returned from a GRDC world study tour armed with global agricultural insight and a head full of ideas. Both speakers were well received and MCC thanks them for their time.

Places on the committee are still available so if you are interested then give Helen Watkins a ring on 9653 1355 or email moorecc@bigpond.com.





2011 Moore Catchment Council Committee

Name	Position	Representative
Lawrie Short	Treasurer	Dandaragan Shire
Tony White	Deputy Chair	Dandaragan Community
Vacant		Dalwallinu Shire
Alan Barnes	Committee	Dalwallinu Community
Reginald Beale	Chairperson	Gingin Shire
John Braid	PM/HR Sub Committee	Gingin Community
Geoff Erickson	Committee	Victoria Plains Shire
John Longman	Committee	Victoria Plains Community
Jan Waite	Committee	Coorow Shire
Duncan Peter	Secretary	Coorow Community
Vacant		Carnamah Shire
Vacant		Carnamah Community
Arthur Tonkin	Committee	Moora Shire
Richard Topham	Committee	Moora Community
Peter Waterhouse	Committee	Perenjori Shire
Vacant		Perenjori Community
Don Telfer	Committee	Ag Department
Mike Carter	Committee	FPC
Vacant		DEC